Skip to content

Vintage Clothing Repair Project

14/01/2012
Fine Woollens Plaid Coat

Casual, but ever so stylish plaid coat.

I picked up this rather spiffing coat the other day. I was instantly drawn to the colour and weave. It’s slightly A-line in shape with wide sleeves, and I love the colours – navy-blue mixed with soft beige and cream. It’s very easy on the eye.

Going by the texture and feel of the fabric, I thought it might be wool and I was right. The label reads: Fine Woollens Woven in Scotland, Pure New Wool. I recently sold a jacket with the exact same label as this although it dated c.1980s. My new coat dates a little earlier.

Fine Woollens Woven in Scotland

Fine Woollens Woven in Scotland

The famous woolmark symbol was designed in 1964 by Italian graphic artist, Francesco Saroglia. It’s used in garments made only from 100% wool. The other symbols shown below include the ‘Woolmark Blend’, used for products containing a minimum of 50% new wool, and the ‘Woolblend’, used for products with 30-49% new wool. More info from The Woolmark Company website.

Woolmark-Logos

Purple buttons

The buttons were all wrong!

It was only when I got my coat home that I realised the buttons were all wrong. They had looked navy-blue, but when I checked them again in full daylight, the buttons were actually purple. Prior to buying the coat I had also spotted a small hole in the collar, but I knew I could fix that easily, providing I had the same colour thread in my sewing box.

I was hoping to find replacement buttons in my large stash of spares. I’ve collected so many over the years but alas, I didn’t have exactly what I was looking for. I needed eight buttons in total; six for the bodice and two smaller ones for each cuff. Undeterred, I went along to my local sewing and haberdashery shop in Didsbury. They didn’t have navy-blue buttons that were large enough so I found a nice alternative. I also found the exact colour of thread I was looking for and here are the finished results. What do you think?

Small hole repaired

Small hole repaired on the collar.

The finished result

The finished result! I chose wood-effect buttons which match perfectly with the soft beige colour of the coat. They're plastic, but will stand up well to the rigours of dry-cleaning. Buttons made from real wood can often split during this harsh cleaning process.

Smaller buttons for the cuff

Slightly smaller buttons required for the cuff.

Sadly, the coat is too big for me otherwise it would definitely be a keeper!  It’s currently available from the website, so please stop by and see if there’s anything else I can tempt you with.

Catwalk Creative Vintage

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 14/01/2012 11:49 am

    Hey! Good job. it looks so much better with the new buttons ;)

  2. 14/01/2012 11:58 am

    That coat has a lovely late 30s vibe. The new buttons are much better,

    • 14/01/2012 12:02 pm

      Thanks so much. I agree! The coat has a much older vibe. I thinks it’s those wide sleeves. I can see it teamed with slouchy, wide-leg trousers and a head-scarf. Very retro! :)

  3. 15/01/2012 3:54 pm

    What a lovely coat. Gorgeous tweed. And that little hole is completely gone thanks to your sewing expertise! The brown buttons look so much better against the blue background. Great job!

    • 15/01/2012 4:01 pm

      Thanks Marjorie. My first choice would have been navy-blue buttons so I’m glad they didn’t have them in the sewing shop now. I think the wood-effect ones look better too. :-)

Leave a Reply

  • Choose Vintage!

    vintage-fashion-2
  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Join me on Facebook

  • Kitty Wink Vintage

  • Alison McMath Beauty

  • Press Release

  • Visitors to Catwalk Threads

    free counters
  • The Vintage List

  • Blog Frog

    Visit My BlogFrog Community!
  • Blogs I Follow

    1. Kitty Wink Vintage
    2. Farewell Hackney Hipsters
    3. Our Vintage Life
    4. The Imaginarium
    5. Ali Vintage Fabric
    6. Home Bird Vintage
    7. Aspidistra Vintage
    8. modernfurnituredecor2014.blogspot.co.uk
    9. vintage-frills.com
    10. Second Hand Shopper
    11. We Heart Vintage blog: retro fashion, cinema and photography
    12. The Puffin Diaries
    13. TheBigForest
    14. Get Some Vintage-a-Peel
    15. Oh, for the Love of Vintage!
    16. History of Costume
    17. A Nudibranch
    18. Business Boom Bolton
    19. Bettes Bargains Vintage
    20. The Vintage Traveler
    21. Your Vintage Blog
    22. Catwalk Threads Vintage
  • I’m an Independent Fashion Blogger

  • Kitty Wink Vintage

    Unique makeovers

    Farewell Hackney Hipsters

    Chris, Libi and Rasputin the cat say goodbye to Hackney and set up life in Brockley

    Our Vintage Life

    The Vintage Design & Lifestyle Blog from Your Vintage Life

    The Imaginarium

    sewing, knitting, creativity

    Ali Vintage Fabric

    Vintage Fabric

    Home Bird Vintage

    Vintage homeware and kitsch collectables for modern living

    Aspidistra Vintage

    Vintage homeware, fashion, jewellery and more

    Written and edited by Louise Sleigh of Catwalk Creative Vintage

    Fashion, Beauty and Lifestyle with a Vintage Twist

    Second Hand Shopper

    Life in the bargain basement...

    We Heart Vintage blog: retro fashion, cinema and photography

    Vintage fashion, photography and cinema from the 1920s through to the 1970s and beyond

    The Puffin Diaries

    The story of a family, the highs, the lows, the ins ,the outs, the loves, the hates and so much more...just don't mention the puffin.

    TheBigForest

    Fire your creativity with news and inspiration from the TheBigForest

    Oh, for the Love of Vintage!

    Your guide to all things vintage - and more

    History of Costume

    European Fashion Through the Ages

    A Nudibranch

    A Sea Slug's Notes on Portland, OR

    Business Boom Bolton

    Arts and media, commercial space, business news and creative events in Bolton and the North West.

    Bettes Bargains Vintage

    Vintage for every budget. Prices you will love!

    The Vintage Traveler

    Fuzzylizzie's Fashion & Travel: Vintage Style

    Your Vintage Blog

    Just another WordPress.com site

    Catwalk Threads Vintage

    Written and edited by Louise Sleigh of Catwalk Creative Vintage

    Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 3,275 other followers

